Home > Music, Reviews > Ursa Major

Ursa Major

3eb_Ursa_MajorUrsa Major

3EB for me, is the best band in the world. This band shaped my childhood. They were introduced to me by my HS friends. I bought their cassettes and never stopped listening after. Up to now, I still have their tracks on my iPhone.

Ursa Major is the latest album from Third Eye Blind. Their last album Out of the Vein was rated badly by the reviewers and sad to say, this one is rated just as bad. I think they don’t have the staying power like bands with calibres as U2. And it’s sad to say because they’re one of the best.

Although Stephan Jenkins’ wit is still apparent in the lyrics, it is not as strong as before. The sound is pretty mashed up melodies from previous compositions which really hurts the overall quality of the track. I think it’s a matter of letting the album grow on you, (which it did for me, since they’re the best band for me), but if you’re a first time listener, you’d quickly dismiss this one.

Over all, this is an album you will forget. And fans could only hope for another track with the wit and charm (no pun intended) of Motor Cycle Drive by, God of Wine or Slow Motion. There are few notable songs which are pretty catchy and a welcome addition to the hits of the band,

In summation, if you love the band, get this one. I can assure you that it would be a blast.

There’s this follow up album Ursa Minor, but I am not hoping much.

Categories: Music, Reviews
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment